It has been a shitty day

Silver Jews: Punks in the Beerlight from Tanglewood Numbers

There is one thing I do not understand. Why do grown-up people prefer to talk badly about a third person when that person is not there to saying it to that person directly? And why the hell do I have to be in between those two persons? Which means of course that I also have to listen to the other person’s criticism of the first. Je n’y suis pour rien. Additionally I got into a rather fruitless discussion (unfortunately it is in German) about the question if Obama is black, white or something else. I opted for something else. I’d rather forget all this crap and listen to David Berman’s wonderful song about punks in the beerlight. I guess to produce a rhyme like

Ain’tcha heard the news?
Adam and Eve were Jews.

you have to be a) a Jew and b) David Berman
But the unforgettable line in this song is of course the chorus. „I loved you to the max“. It resonates in the ear. There is a happiness hormone hidden in this simple sentence which has an effect only when you sing it and repeat it again and again. The complete lyrics are here. And there is another part which makes this post kind of come full circle:

If it ever gets really really bad,
Let’s not kid ourselves.
It gets really really bad.

How can someone not love David Berman? There’s another great mystery of life.

Eine Antwort to “It has been a shitty day”

  1. mannaman Says:

    Yeah, yeah, you’re right…And I did what I had to do. But I am still not sure I meant it that way.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

