5’55 The Cure – A Forest (1980)

https://docs.google.com/uc?id=0B6VP-jaS7U-JZDUyZWQ1NDYtMmUzMy00Y2U1LTg1Y2YtZTU2ZmNlNWNmMDQ2&export=download&hl=de

Suddenly I stop
But I know it’s too late
I’m lost in a forest
All alone
The girl was never there

How do you say Schnapszahl in English? I don’t know of any song which defined a band better than this one. The Cure without A Forest would not have been The Cure for me. I wrote about A Forest before when I chose my fave 1980 album. There is not a lot to add here. Maybe one thing. The guitar sounds so snakelike on this one, I never really thought about it before but the guitar is extremely smooth – I wanted to write the French „souple“. And the later dance remix is great as well. I don’t remember any cover of this. I don’t think this song can be separated from Robert Smith and his group.

(The list of all 355 selections since 1st February 2010 is here).

Eine Antwort to “5’55 The Cure – A Forest (1980)”

  1. mannaman Says:

    One of my favorites and of course a song for the 30 in 30!

Kommentar verfassen

